Thursday, February 20, 2014

Indiana: House Committee to Hear Right to Hunt and Fish Amendment on Monday

On Monday, February 24 at 10:30 a.m., the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider Senate Joint Resolution 9.  Sponsored by state Senator Brent Steele (R-44) and state Representative Mark Messmer (R-63), SJR 9 would guarantee Hoosiers the right to hunt, fish and harvest wildlife.  This proposed state constitutional amendment would ensure the preservation of Indiana's rich hunting heritage.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support SJR 9 as proposed.

By declaring and enshrining this constitutional right, Indiana would keep the existing fishing and hunting structure in place while protecting future generations of sportsmen from attacks initiated by well-funded anti-hunting extremists.  Specifically, SJR 9 would promote wildlife conservation and management.  In addition, it specifies that hunting, fishing and harvesting of wildlife shall be used as a preferred means of managing and controlling wildlife.  This proposed constitutional amendment would ensure that sportsmen will continue to be used as Indiana’s responsible game managers instead of taxpayer-funded sharpshooters and unproven, expensive wildlife contraception schemes employed in other jurisdictions.

Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to SUPPORT your right to hunt and fish by voting “YES” on SJR 9.  Contact information for committee members is provided below.

House Judiciary Committee:

Republican Switchboard: 800-382-9841
Democratic Switchboard: 800-382-9842

Representative Gregory Steuerwald (R-40), Chairman

Representative Thomas Washburne (R-64), Vice-Chairman

Representative Casey Cox (R-85)

Representative Eric Allan Koch (R-65)

Representative Daniel Leonard (R-50)

Representative Peggy Mayfield (R-60)

Representative Jud McMillin (R-68)

Representative Wendy McNamara (R-76)

Representative Jerry Torr (R-39)

Representative B. Patrick Bauer (D-6)

Representative Edward DeLaney (D-86)

Representative Ryan Dvorak (D-8)

Representative Vernon Smith (D-14)

No comments:

Post a Comment